Hello, my name is Cindy….

I'm not an easy person to get to know. Oh, I'll show you the surface me, but to get to know the real me, well, that's a goal not many folks reach. I'm not a mean person, I'm just very protective….of me.
You see, I'm an Empath. I love being around people, but I enjoy my own company. Being alone helps me recharge, because while I'm around people, not only am I enjoying their company, I'm also taking away their pain, taking it on as my own. Every smile I get, every laugh, every hug, costs me. Even as I struggle to survive my own storms, I am a port of safety for others.
It's hard for me to ask for help, because quite frankly, not many know how to. But when I do ask for it, no matter how minor it may seem, it's a huge deal for me.
My father once told me: you are the guardian of this family.
In my family, I'm the middle child (there was a sister before me) and although studies have shown that middle children usually have a tough time, I believe it's because their position isn't clear to them. We are the guardians. The eldest has the task/burden of forging the path, the youngest receives the most attention because they're the 'baby'. Us middle kids are the: voice of reason, we protect both older and younger siblings, we are the observers, we are the ones who make sense when the world goes crazy. We are the Empaths (more often than not)
I am a magnet for children, old people, strange people, lonely people, and yes, animals lol…..because they know I'll take the time to see how they are, I'll take away whatever pain they're in, I'll give them my smiles.
So, my name is, Cindy. I'm a daughter, a sister, a guardian, a cousin, an aunt, a wife, a mother, a friend (a most fierce one) an educator, a pied piper of children, an author, and an Empath. It's a pleasure to meet you. ❤️

Published by Cindy Charity

I'm a mother of three amazing kids, living on the shores of Lake Huron. When I'm not writing, my husband I might sneak off to do a bit of fishing, or, discover a new fry truck. To combat the dreaded writer's block, I take to the trails with my crack team of hikers: a Wolfhound named Fawn, and a Great Dane named Murphy. I've been a storyteller all of my life. My mother, bless her, kept all of my stories--right back to the one about the snake who dreamed of having feet. Creating stories that entertain, provoke thought, or simply invite one to dream up their own stories--aside from my family, gives me so much joy.

Leave a comment